Vegan Carrot Ginger Coconut Soup

Gasp. Vegan soup? I made something vegan today (who knows, I’ve probably made plenty of vegan things in the past.. this one was just labeled vegan). I’ve always wanted to make a pureed carrot soup because I love pureed soups. Let me just tell you, this vegan carrot ginger coconut soup is lovely, and hearty. We ate ours by scooping it up with toasted sourdough bread, and it was good.

Here are the ingredients…

Is it just me or does it seem like I have been cooking with ginger a  lot this year? I feel like almost every ingredient picture I have put up lately has ginger in it. I used to think I hated ginger because I had a bad experience with some ginger rice at some restaurant… but I’ve changed my mind.. it truly is great. I only dislike grating it… but that is just something I will have to put up with.

Ok, so first I chopped up my onions (insert crying here).

Then I chopped up my carrots and grated my ginger. I went ahead and bought baby carrots so I wouldn’t have to peel the big ones, but if you are feeling up to peeling.. then by all means, peel ahead.

Then I sauteed my onions over medium heat in some olive oil until they became translucent.

Next I added the grated ginger and sauteed for about another 4 minutes.

I then added in my ground coriander and chopped carrots.

I added the vegetable broth, and simmered for about 30 minutes until the carrots were soft.

Finally, I got to puree the mixture! Ok, so I recently invested in a hand blender because putting soups in an actual blender to puree just… brings back bad memories. Let me explain…

I once was attempting to make pureed pea soup, my dad’s recipe. When it came to putting the soup in the blender to puree, I held the lid on tight, turned the blender on, and then off shoots the lid and pea soup went all over me and my kitchen counter. I got so upset with my blender that  I just left the whole mess there and went off to cry (yes, I cried… it was a rough moment, don’t judge). Fortunately, Sam cleaned it up and managed to finish up the process… but ever since then I have a fear of pureeing soups in my blender. Hence the reason for buying a hand blender!

These things are awesome, and if you have any interest in making pureed soups… I really recommend getting one (or a food mill, I’ve known those to work really well too). OR take your chances with the blender… just be careful, and make sure your food isn’t too hot.

Finally, I stirred in my coconut milk and seasoned with some salt and pepper until I got it just the way I liked.

This recipe comes from the blog Joy the Baker, who is also on my blogroll. You should really check out her page… sometimes I wish I could be a lot more at ease with my writing and photography like she seems to be.

Vegan Carrot Ginger Coconut Soup
serves 4-6

Ingredients:

2 tablespoons olive oil
1 medium onion, diced
3 tablespoons minced ginger
3/4 teaspoon ground coriander
4-5 cups diced carrots
3 cups vegetable broth
1 cup light coconut milk
salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

Heat olive oil in a large saucepan over medium heat.  Add onions and saute until onions are translucent, about 4 minutes.  Add ginger and saute for another 4 minutes, until softened and fragrant.  Add coriander and diced carrots.  Stir to incorporate.  Add the vegetable broth, reduce heat, and simmer mixture until carrots are completely softened, about 30 minutes.  Remove from heat and allow to cool for 20 minutes. (Allison: I only waited maybe 5 minutes to use my hand blender, but if using a normal blender it might be best to wait 20 minutes)

Using a blender, blend soup in batches until smooth.  (Or hand blender, or food mill…)  Return soup to pot, stir in coconut milk.  Add salt and pepper to taste.  Serve soup warm with crusty bread.

This entry was posted in Main Dish, Soup and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Vegan Carrot Ginger Coconut Soup

  1. Dad says:

    I make a similar soup sans ginger and veggie broth. Carrots, shallots, chicken broth , butter, salt & pepper to taste. Open the top of the blender and don’t overfill it.
    I gotta try the ginger.
    Love ya sweet girl.

  2. You should have waited on buying the hand blender. I have an extra one I could have given you. Now what to do with my extra hand blender . . .

  3. Hey there would you mind letting me know which hosting company you’re working
    with? I’ve loaded your blog in 3 different web browsers
    and I must say this blog loads a lot quicker
    then most. Can you suggest a good web hosting provider at a
    honest price? Many thanks, I appreciate it!

Leave a comment