The Best of Austin, Texas

God, I miss Texas. I probably miss Texas mostly because of the people that I left that I love there, but also because it has just been such an amazing place to live. This is especially true for Austin, so I decided to make a list of some of my favorite places in Austin, TX and the Austin area. Obviously, there are probably many more great places that I never had a chance to go to… but here is my top 10 in no particular order. I can’t say much about the quality of the photos coming up because I took a lot of these with my phone… which has a horrible camera, just FYI.

1. PTerry’s

By far my favorite burgers and fries anywhere. The price, flavor, and quality just can’t be beat… not to mention it makes perfect hang over food. I went here all the time. I’m really going to miss it. I’ve even tried In-N-Out burgers here in California, and I still think I am a bigger fan of PTerry’s.

2. The Taco Joint

Drool. I unfortunately didn’t find out about this place until my last semester of senior year, but let me tell you… this place has the absolute best breakfast tacos I have ever had in my life. After the first time I went here, I came at least once a week until graduation. Again, great hang over food (not that I was hung over a lot). If you are curious, every time I ordered the bacon and egg breakfast tacos and then put the chipotle and red sauce all over it. O.M.G. If you are living in Austin, please don’t miss out on this.

3. Enchanted Rock State Park

Sam and I went here a lot. We came some to camp and we came here to climb. This is a great place for camping, hiking, and climbing. In fact, I think it was one of my favorite places to come climb. It is really beautiful out here. Definitely take some time to explore E-Rock and hike off the beaten path away from the main dome. It’s stunning.

4. Hey Cupcake

Hey Cupcake changed my view on cupcakes forever. I used to just think cupcakes were so-so, but now I am addicted and these are amazing. They have several locations in Austin, and sign up for their emails because every now and then they will do a bunch of “mini” cupcakes and you can get a box to sample their many different flavors. Yum.

5. The Greenbelt

The Greenbelt is great for hiking and swimming. All along the hiking trails are places to get into Barton springs and relax and cool off from the summer heat. There is also some good climbing out here.

6. Ken’s Donuts

Don’t get me started. Best donuts (besides Krispy Kreme’s glazed donuts) ever. Open 24/7… perfect place to stop by after a night downtown.

7. Austin City Limits Music Festival

This is just part of the whole Austin experience. If you are living in Austin you should definately try to go once. It is a huge music festival in the fall that lasts 3 days at Zilker Park. We got to go to 2 of them while we were in Austin.

8. Hamilton Pool

This place is so cool! It is this natural swimming pool outside of Austin, and it is a lot of fun.

9. 6th Street

Whether you choose dirty sixth or classy sixth, 6th street is like no other place I’ve been when it comes to bar hopping. Don’t miss out.

10. Kebabalicious

Whether you are trying this for lunch or after a night downtown, they make delicious European-Turkish street food.

Some other notably great things include Lucy’s Fried Chicken, South Congress, The Highball, Rainey Street, McKinney Falls State Park, Kerby Lane’s Queso and Lemon Poppyseed pancakesThe Salt Lick, Lady Bird Lake, Pedernales Falls State Parke, Peter Pan Mini Golf, Home Slice, Trudy’s Mexican Martinis, Barton Springs Pool, Mt. Bonnell, Gourdough’s, Halcyon, The Alamo Draft House, Mandolas, Rita’s, Hopdoddy… the list could go on and on. I know I probably barely experienced all the awesome things there are to do in Austin, but these are some of my favorites.

Hope this list comes in handy for those still living in Austin, and I would love to hear about any other great places in Austin. Although I am currently living in California, and I am sure I am going to have many great times here… my heart will always belong to Texas.

This entry was posted in Adventures, Texas and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Best of Austin, Texas

  1. Sunnah Butte says:

    Ohhhh sooooo goooooood. ALL of them!!! I’m going to miss Austin a lot too! 😦

  2. tarrtarr says:

    all that food looks delicious, especially the cupcake! and that rocky pond area? I am so jealous. I love hiking and swimming in natural reserves like that, you are so lucky!

Leave a Reply

