{Stop and Smell the Rosemary} Chocolate-Covered Peanut Butter Triangles

I meant to put this post up on Saturday because I made these chocolate-covered peanut butter triangles Thursday, but Friday night I went to 6th street with some friends, and lets just say Saturday I spent the rest of my day on the couch with Sam watching TV and recovering. Every now and then I allow my self one extremely lazy day, and that was yesterday for me. Today, I am attempting to be more productive.

These chocolate-covered peanut butter triangles were really good. They tasted like a spin off of reeses peanut butter cups, but with fillo dough which added a nice crunchy texture. Sam and I liked them. My only complaint is that this recipe took a lot longer to make than I expected. It is mainly because of the fillo dough. It is hard to work with. I remember thinking to myself Thursday that if these weren’t really good I probably would never make them again, because they took so long. However, I think I would make them again. I really liked them. Just make sure you have a good free evening on your hands before you attempt to make these. You won’t want to feel stressed from it. Just enjoy the process and watch a little tv in the process. That’s what I did at least.

Here are the ingredients…

So the first thing I did was combined the peanut butter, sugar, butter, and vanilla and mixed them together. This created my filling for the triangles.

Then I took out a sheet of fillo (I am not sure how to spell this, my book says phyllo and the box I bought at grocery store said both phyllo and fillo, I am just going with fillo for this post) and brushed it with melted butter.

Then I cut the fillo sheet into 4 long strips.

Then I took about a teaspoon size of my peanut butter mixture, rolled it into a ball and placed it on one of my strips so I could fold it into a triangle. This part might seem a little tricky at first, but basically you just keep folding the corners to the edges until the end of the strip. All of my triangles were a little different from each other, so unless you are OCD don’t worry about getting them exactly the same size.

After I filled a pan up with triangles, I brushed the tops with more melted butter and then put them into the oven at 400 degrees for 7 minutes.

I ended up making about two pans of triangles before my peanut butter mixture ran out. Then once they were cooled, I melted some chocolate using a double boiler method. Ok, now what you do with a double boiler is that you put about an inch of water in a pot, and then put another pot, glass bowl, or pan on top of it. You just need to make sure the top bowl doesn’t touch the water. Turn on the heat (I usually turn it on medium high) and melt the chocolate. Some people have an actual double boiler, but I don’t, and I don’t have any big glass bowls either, which is what usually works second best. I will show you my double boiler. You can melt chocolate in the microwave, but you risk burning your chocolate. I think this is just as easy anyways.

Ghetto styled double boiler… but hey, it works. Don’t hate.

I put almost the entire bag of chocolate chips in because I ended up making more triangles than the recipe had predicted. After I melted the chocolate, I frosted the “cookies” and put choped pecans on top of them.

Voila.

This is one of the recipes from the “Stop and Smell the Rosemary” cookbook on page 275.

Chocolate-Covered Peanut Butter Triangles
Yields about 30 triangles.

Ingredients:

Cookie:

✔1/2 cup creamy peanut butter
✔1/2 cup sifted powdered sugar
✔2 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted (I definitely used more than this)
✔1 teaspoon vanilla extract
✔7 sheets phyllo dough, thawed (the dough should be thawed in the refrigerator overnight)

Topping:

✔5 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
✔1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips, melted (I used more than this, a little less than a small bag)
✔1/4 cup chopped pecans (I used more than this)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Combine peanut butter, sugar, butter and vanilla. Mix until well blended. Set aside. Brush 1 sheet phyllo dough with melted butter. (keep remaining sheets covered with a  damp towel to prevent them from drying out.) Cut phyllo sheet lengthwise into 4 long strips. Place 1 slightly rounded teaspoon of peanut butter mixture about 1 inch from the end of one of the strips. Starting at the end with the filling, fold a corner of the dough over filling so it lines up with other side of strip, forming a trinagle. Continue folding like a flag, in a trainglular shape, using the entire strip. Repeat with remaining 3 strips. Repeat with remaining sheets of phyllo, butter, and filling.

Place triangles on an ungreased baking sheet, seam side down. Brush each triangle with melted butter. Bake 6 to 8 minutes, or until golden brown. Cool on wire racks (I cooled on wax paper). Frost cookies with melted chocolate and sprinkle with chopped pecans. Cool until chocolate is set. Serve immediately or cover and refrigerate up to 2 days.

This entry was posted in Cookies, Dessert, Stop and Smell the Rosemary and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to {Stop and Smell the Rosemary} Chocolate-Covered Peanut Butter Triangles

  1. I blog quite often and I really thasnk you for your information.
    Thiss great article has truly peaked my interest. I aam going
    to bookmark your site and keep checking for new information about once a week.

    I opted in for your Feed as well.

Leave a comment